Last week I went to a vegan wine party and most people’s reaction was “Isn’t all wine vegan?” Truth bomb for you: no, it isn’t (actually neither is most sugar, for a similar reason) but lets stick to wine for tonight, we can save sugar for another time.
Vegan wine is wine that is either ‘not fined’ ‘not filtered’ or it is not filtered with animal products, rather activated charcoal, a clay based mineral.
Unfortunately it can be difficult to tell if wine is vegan or not because of labeling laws around wine. Companies do not have to label ingredients on wine, beer or spirits. So labeling as vegan is voluntary and many companies, even vegan wine is NOT labeled because they are afraid people will not think it tastes as good or it might have sediment.
If you are a strict vegan or if you are interested in picking vegan wines I recommend you ask a wine clerk or go to the wine makers website to see if they have more information. Luckily more and more people are looking for vegan wines and wineries are labeling this on the back of the label. Also look for the words ‘not fined’ or ‘not filtered’
Organic wine pertains to the way the grapes are grown. Grapes are grown without the use of artificial or synthetic chemicals, such as herbicides and pesticides. In the US to be organic you can not add any sulfites, in Australia and Europe you can still add sulfites it is only to a certain amount.
Biodynamic wines are usually organic wines that also take the environment as we whole into account and are better for the environment. It takes into account the soil from planting, the grapes from harvest and through to production.
Check out the video for the summer corn and wine on Facebook here.
Serves 15 as appetizer
1 ear of corn, raw, cut off the cob
1 small red onion, diced
1 green chili or green pepper, roughly chopped
1 tsp cilantro, chopped
2 calamansi or 1 lime, juiced
1 tsp honey
1 whole wheat baguette, sliced
Gouda cheese (optional)
Enjoy ~ Amanda